Special Edition

01

Christoph Fischer, CH

Während ich schlief 

In 041 - Das Kulturmagazin


A crab eats a beetle, crows are trapped in a cage, caribou gallop next to floating trees, a carpet is burning on the floor, a dinosaur is at the end of a staircase. Christoph Fischer tells of such and countless other events in his dream images. The Lucerne artist, draftsman and illustrator has been recording his nightly dreams in his sketchbook shortly after waking up for over 10 years. These sketches are implemented in large-format pencil drawings. Short texts, felt pen sketches and notes complete the book. «Christoph Fischer's dream drawings are surprising, strange and strange. Things come together that don't belong together, proportions shift, materials behave in an unusual way, time passes differently. Christoph Fischer succeeded in telling his night thoughts in this simultaneously individual and universal language of dreams.»* We are pleased to present his comprehensive work to the Fumetto audience. On 8 pages in the March issue of Lucerne's 041 culture magazine, we give those interested an insight into the work of Christoph Fischer.


* Text from Christoph Fischer's book Während ich schlief by Anette Gehrig, published by Christoph Merian Verlag


Cooperation: Cartoonmuseum Basel


02

Pierre Wazem, CH

Artist in Digital Residence 

Maskenliebhaber Saal

March 20 – 28, 3 pm – 4 pm


Online, livestream from the Maskenliebhaber Saal in Lucerne


Pierre Wazem, born in Geneva in 1970, published his first comics in the fanzine "Sauve qui peut" (Save yourself who can). As an author and caricaturist, he switches from caricature to realistic drawing, alternating between personal work and collaborations as a screenwriter. He paints theater sets, designs frescoes for private individuals or institutions, draws for improvised concerts by the pianist Michel Wintsch, writes and illustrates animated films, illustrates children's books, draws in the press and for two years he has been running a weekly comic column in L'Illustré magazine and soon also for a renowned French weekly newspaper. He teaches and transmits his energy at the Ceruleum de Lausanne in the international bachelor's degree course Bande Dessinée et Illustration. His 30 comics are translated into a dozen languages. He's been working at the Lolos studios in Carouge-Genève for half his life, almost every day. For Fumetto this year he will be drawing live and up close for one hour as Artist in Residence. The result will be short stories from Lucerne, which will then appear as the last chapter in his latest book: "Les auteurs en festival" by Atrabile.


You can find the pictures from the live sessions here.


03

Maurane Mazars, CH

Fumetto Schleuder: «Otres» 

Online

March 20 – 28


Click here for the Schleuder.


A strange city, no inhabitants far and wide. But all the more animals. The adventure begins. The illustrator Maurane Mazars has a particular sensitivity towards animals. These and the experiences of her three-month stay in Buenos Aires play a major role in her story. Maurane Mazars lets the poetry of everyday life and small gestures resound in her watercolors. The exhibition and publication of the Fumetto Schleuder are a valuable tool for introducing up-and-coming talents from the Swiss comic scene to a wide audience. They allow a unique look behind the complex scenes of the artistic production. This year the project is particularly aimed at a young readership. On the Fumetto website we give the audience a complete insight into the finished book. And the author impressively tells what she experienced during the time in Buenos Aires and how the book came about.


04

Edition Moderne

4 Decades of Avant Garde 

Online

March 20 – 28, 10 am


Klick here for the book tips.


Oh yeah! Edition Moderne celebrates its 40th birthday in 2021. It is the oldest among the independent comic publishers in German-speaking countries. Titles published by her such as Persepolis by Marjane Satrapi, The Sacred Disease by David B. or 120, rue de la Gare by Tardi are among the milestones of the genre. Fumetto is looking forward to celebrating together with Editon Moderne. Every day during the nine days of the festival, the publisher presents an exclusive book from its program. The video book tips are both a review and an outlook. It presents Edition Moderne and its rich history based on the titles published to date (almost 400). These impressively convey the diversity, quality and history of Edition Moderne and make current events and spirit legible. Fumetto is proud to introduce all of the wonderful book titles to its audience


www.editionmoderne.ch


05

Anda, CH

Street Art 

Reussinsel

March 21 – 28, 10 am – 12 pm


live on the Reussinsel and online as a photo gallery here!


Fumetto takes to the street and lets gray walls bloom in color. Fumetto presents Anda, a street art talent from western Switzerland. Anda lets the history of the local Reussinsel flow into her work and stages it artistically. Painting will take place during the festival, and every step of the work can be admired live. Photos are uploaded to the website every day. This means that the whole world can watch how a new mural is created. An outdoor comic is created, one that will last forever.


Cooperation: UntergRundgang, Luzerner Maler, Sax Farben


06

Competition

Without borders 

Online

March 21 – 28


Walls and fences are told about. From limitless possibilities in thoughts, dreams or in the imagination. About the longing for freedom in difficult and hard times when you feel trapped. Short comic stories on a limitless number of and enormously different topics. Sometimes lavishly drawn, illustrated, painted and glued. Or told in simple lines with just a few words. The creative responses to our competition announcement are limitlessly diverse and colorful. There are funny, sad, imaginative and serious things to discover. Fumetto has received around 670 works from all over the world. The topic «without borders» has motivated many illustrators. 40 works were nominated. All nominees and winners can be seen and admired exclusively on the Fumetto website.

Have a look at the winners


Prix MSF


07

Symposium

on Censorship 

Online

Friday, March 26, 1pm – 4.45pm – ONLINE


It is about time we talked about visual art and censorship. We live in strange times and the concept of censorship – so clear and obvious only a short time ago – is now being twisted and appropriated by fringe groups for their own needs. Sure, not every voice deserves to be heard but who deserves to be silenced and who will decide? In a joke, a cartoon, a drawing, a performance power and its subjects meet for a brief moment on equal terms. That’s the agreement. The artist has to be aware how to use his or her power, no excuse is acceptable. Avoiding banality as much as avoiding sadness. But for power to silence one person is to silence a multitude. As Turkish cartoonist Kart said at his trial: Cartoonists are like canaries in a coal mine – when they fall silent, you know politics are getting toxic.
Censorship comes in many forms, from self-censorship to online character assassination, from litigation to imprisonment, from intimidation to the threat and use of blunt violence. How do artists think about boundaries and what is the brave and what is the foolish thing to do when you are faced with one or more of these threats.


Our speakers report from personal experience with censorship and will share their reactions and the strategies they developed. With Patrick Chappatte (CH) cartoonist and comic journalist, Martin Rowson (GB) cartoonist, Ilan Manouach (GR) artist, curator and researcher, Xavier Löwenthal (BE) author and publisher, Baris Uygur (TUR) publisher and cartoonist, Powerpaola (ECU/COL/ARG) comic-artist and activist.


Moderator: Marcy Goldberg


In collaboration with the Illustration department at the Lucerne School of Art and Design


Event in Englisch


Registration

08

GASSETTO

In the streets of Lucerne 

Sales start: Wed, March 3rd


Who doesn't know GasseZiitig ?! So far, you have been able to read and marvel at many stories in GasseZiitig, which ends up in a wide variety of hands, throughout the canton and beyond, depending on the situation. Fumetto takes the opportunity and works together with GasseZiitig for a project due to Corona - and thus creates the first take-away exhibition. Far beyond the borders, this is brought to all sorts of hands in increased quantities. This special edition is of course called Gassetto and has a special goal: to make street stories tangible as comics. This is a one-time project and has never been implemented in this form. The Gassetto shows that even in difficult times the possibilities are almost limitless. She bridges social boundaries by bringing artists, viewers, and people together on the street and putting their stories on paper for everyone as a comic.


The stories were drawn by: Andreas Kiener, Conradin Wahl, Leonie Rösler, Melk Thalmann, Michael Kühni, Roland Burkart, Vanessa Hatzky


You have a good chance of getting a Gassetto at the following places: Helvetiaplatz, Theaterplatz, Rathausplatz, Schwanenplatz, Löwenplatz, Mühleplatz, Nature Museum


Cooperation: Verein Kirchliche Gassenarbeit Luzern


09

Satellites

All over the city of Lucerne 

March 10-28, throughout the city of Lucerne


The Fumetto Festival is accompanied by its satellite exhibitions. These too are under the sign of Swissness and present the works of local artists throughout the city. From experimental graphic novels and postcards from New York to life-size cardboard figures, the various satellites offer an in-depth look at the range of the Ninth Art in Switzerland. Over 40 localities, shops, restaurants and bars are there and offer unique exhibitions and opportunities to interact with the medium of comics.


Click here for the Satellites.


10

Co-Mix Remix

Fumetto Comic Shop 

Co-Mix Remix

Comics as far as the eye can see! Fumetto is working with the comic shop Co-Mix Remix and offers another access to the ninth art. A wide range of comic books, vinyl records and other discoveries await you at Pfistergasse 11. Especially for Fumetto they are increasing their range and presenting the works of our satellite artists. In addition to great advice and expert opinions, a great atmosphere awaits you. So if you haven't had enough after a tour of the satellite exhibitions or would like to delve deeper into the world of comics, a visit to Co-Mix Remix is ​​warmly recommended.


Mon-Wed, 10 am-7 pm
Thu, 10 am - 8 pm
Fri, 10 am - 7 pm
Sat, 9 am - 5 pm


www.co-mix.ch


Menu

FUMETTO

Filter

NEWS

Meet you at April of 2nd to April of 10th in Lucerne!

All
Exhibitions
Satellites

Special Edition

01

Christoph Fischer, CH

Während ich schlief 

Im 041 - Das Kulturmagazin


Eine Krabbe frisst einen Käfer, Krähen sind gefangen in einem Käfig, Karibus galoppieren neben schwebenden Bäumen, ein Teppich liegt brennend auf dem Boden, ein Dinosaurier steht am Ende einer Treppe. Von solchen und unzähligen weiteren Ereignissen erzählt Christoph Fischer in seinen Traumbildern. Seit über 10 Jahren hält der Luzerner Künstler, Zeichner und Illustrator seine nächtlichen Träume kurz nach dem Erwachen in seinem Skizzenbuch fest. In grossformatigen Bleistiftzeichnungen werden diese Skizzen umgesetzt. Kurztexte, Filzstiftskizzen und Notizen ergänzen das Buch. «Christoph Fischers Traumzeichnungen sind überraschend, seltsam und fremd. Dinge kommen zusammen, die nicht zusammengehören, Grössenverhältnisse verschieben sich, Materialien verhalten sich ungewohnt, die Zeit läuft anders. Es ist Christoph Fischer gelungen, seine Nachtgedanken in dieser gleichzeitig individuellen wie universellen Sprache der Träume zu erzählen.»* Wir freuen uns sein umfassendes Werk dem Fumetto Publikum vorzustellen. Auf 8 Seiten in der Märzausgabe des Luzerner 041 Kulturmagazins, gewähren wir Kulturinteressierten einen Einblick in das Werk von Christoph Fischer.


* Text aus Christoph Fischers Buch Während ich schlief von Anette Gehrig, erschienen im Christoph Merian Verlag


Kooperation: Cartoonmuseum Basel


02

Pierre Wazem, CH

Artist in Digital Residence 

Maskenliebhaber Saal

20. – 28. März, 15.00 – 16.00 Uhr


Online, Livestream aus dem Maskenliebhaber Saal Luzern


Pierre Wazem, geboren 1970 in Genf, veröffentlichte seine ersten Comics im Fanzine «Sauve qui peut» (Rette sich, wer kann). Als Autor und Karikaturist wechselt er von der Karikatur zur realistischen Zeichnung, wechselt ab zwischen persönlichen Arbeiten und Kollaborationen als Drehbuchautor. Er malt Theatersets, entwirft Fresken für Private oder Institutionen, zeichnet zu improvisierten Konzerten des Pianisten Michel Wintsch, schreibt und illustriert Animationsfilme, illustriert Kinderbücher, zeichnet in der Presse und seit zwei Jahren führt er eine wöchentliche Comic-Kolumne im Magazin L'Illustré und bald auch für eine renommierte französische Wochenzeitung. Er unterrichtet und vermittelt seine Energie an der Ceruleum de Lausanne im internationalen Bachelorstudiengang Bande Dessinée et Illustration. Seine 30 Comics werden in ein Dutzend Sprachen übersetzt. Er arbeitet schon sein halbes Leben in den Studios Lolos in Carouge-Genève, und das fast täglich. Für Fumetto zeichnet er dieses Jahr als Artist in Residence täglich eine Stunde live und hautnah. Entstehen werden kurze Geschichten aus Luzern, die dann als letztes Kapitel in seinem neusten Buch: „Les auteurs en festival“ bei Atrabile erscheinen wird.


Die Bilder aus den Live-Sessions findest du hier.



03

Maurane Mazars, CH

Fumetto Schleuder: «Otres» 

Online

20. – 28. März


Hier geht es zur Schleuder.


Eine fremde Stadt, keine Einwohner weit und breit. Dafür umso mehr Tiere. Das Abenteuer beginnt. Die Zeichnerin Maurane Mazars hegt eine besondere Sensibilität gegenüber Tieren. Diese und die Erfahrungen ihres dreimonatigen Aufenthaltes in Buenos Aires spielen in ihrer Geschichte eine tragende Rolle. Maurane Mazars lässt in ihren Aquarellen die Poesie des Alltags und der kleinen Gesten erklingen. Die Ausstellung und Publikation der Fumetto Schleuder stellen ein wertvolles Instrument dar, um aufstrebende Talente der Schweizer Comic Szene einem breiten Publikum vorzustellen. Sie ermöglichen einen einmaligen Blick hinter die komplexen Kulissen der künstlerischen Produktion. Dieses Jahr richtet sich das Projekt insbesondere auch an eine junge Leser*innenschaft. Auf der Fumetto Webseite gewähren wir dem Publikum einen kompletten Einblick in das fertige Buch. Und die Autorin erzählt eindrücklich, was sie in der Zeit in Buenos Aires erlebt hat und wie das Buch zustande gekommen ist. 


04

Edition Moderne

4 Dekaden Avant Garde 

Online

20. – 28. März, 10.00 Uhr


Hier geht es zu den Buchtipps.


Oh yeah! Die Edition Moderne feiert 2021 ihren 40. Geburtstag. Sie ist der älteste unter den unabhängigen Comicverlagen im deutschsprachigen Raum. Von ihr verlegte Titel wie Persepolis von Marjane Satrapi, Die heilige Krankheit von David B. oder 120, rue de la Gare von Tardi gehören zu den Meilensteinen des Genres.

Fumetto freut sich zusammen mit der Editon Moderne zu feiern. Täglich präsentiert der Verlag während den neun Festivaltagen einen exklusiven Buchtitel aus dem Programm.

Die Videobuchtips sind Rückblick und Ausblick zugleich. Sie präsentiert die Edition Moderne und ihre reiche Geschichte anhand der bisher veröffentlichten Titel (knapp 400). Diese vermitteln eindrücklich die Vielfalt, Qualität und Historie der Edition Moderne und machen Zeitgeschehen und -geist ablesbar. Fumetto ist stolz, all die wunderbaren Buchtitel seinem Publikum vorzustellen.


www.editionmoderne.ch


05

Anda, CH

Street Art 

Reussinsel

21. – 28. März, 10.00 – 12.00 Uhr, live auf der Reussinsel und als Fotogalerie *klick aufs Bild!*


Fumetto geht auf die Strasse und lässt graue Wände farbig erblühen. Fumetto präsentiert Anda, ein Street-Art-Talent aus der Westschweiz. Anda lässt die Geschichte der hiesigen Reussinsel in ihr Werk einfliessen und inszeniert sie künstlerisch neu. Gemalt wird während des Festivals, jeder Arbeitsschritt kann live bestaunt werden. Auf der Webseite werden täglich Fotos raufgeladen. Damit kann die ganze Welt beobachten, wie ein neues Wandbild entsteht. Ein Outdoor Comic entsteht, und zwar einer für die Ewigkeit.


Kooperation: UntergRundgang, Luzerner Maler, Sax Farben


06

Wettbewerb

Grenzenlos 

Online

21. – 28. März


Von Mauern und Zäunen wird erzählt. Von grenzenlosen Möglichkeiten in Gedanken, Träumen oder in der Fantasie. Von der Sehnsucht nach Freiheit in schweren und harten Zeiten, in denen man sich gefangen fühlt. Kurze Comic-Geschichten zu grenzenlos vielen und enorm unterschiedlichen Themen. Mal aufwändig gezeichnet, illustriert, gemalt und geklebt. Oder in einfachen Strichen mit wenig Worten erzählt. Die gestalterischen Antworten auf unsere Wettbewerbsausschreibung sind grenzenlos vielfältig und bunt. Lustiges, Trauriges, Fantasievolles und Ernstes gibt es zu entdecken. Aus der ganzen Welt sind rund 670 Arbeiten bei Fumetto eingetroffen. Das Thema «Grenzenlos» hat viele Zeichner*innen motiviert. Nominiert wurden 40 Arbeiten . Alle Nominierten und Gewinner sind exklusiv auf der Fumetto Webseite zu sehen und bestaunen.


Zur Preisverleihung, 21. März 2021, 17.00 Uhr


Prix MSF


07

Symposium

Zensur 

Online

Freitag, 26. März, 13.00 – 16.45 Uhr – ONLINE


Es ist an der Zeit, über visuelle Kunst und Zensur zu sprechen. Wir leben in seltsamen Zeiten und das Konzept der Zensur – das noch vor kurzer Zeit so klar und offensichtlich war – wird jetzt von Randgruppen verdreht und für ihre eigenen Bedürfnisse angeeignet. Sicher, nicht jede Stimme verdient es, gehört zu werden, aber wer verdient es, zum Schweigen gebracht zu werden, und wer kann das entscheiden? Wer die Macht hat, eine Person zum Schweigen zu bringen, zensiert somit zugleich eine ganze Gesellschaft. Wie der türkische Karikaturist Kart bei seinem Prozess sagte: Karikaturisten sind wie Kanarienvögel in einer Kohlenmine – wenn diese plötzlich nicht mehr singen, wissen wir, dass die Politik toxisch ist. Zensur gibt es in vielen Formen, von Selbstzensur bis hin zur Ermordung von Online-Charakteren, von Rechtsstreitigkeiten bis zu Inhaftierungen, von Einschüchterungen bis zur Bedrohung und Anwendung roher Gewalt. Wie denken Künstler*innen über Grenzen? Welches Verhalten ist mutig und was ist dumm, wenn sie mit einer oder mehreren dieser Bedrohungen konfrontiert werden?


Gäste: Patrick Chappatte (CH) Cartoonist, Martin Rowson (GB) Cartoonist The Guardian, Ilan Manouach (GR) Künstler/Kurator/Wissenschaftler, Xavier Löwenthal (BE) Autor/Verleger, Baris Uygur (TUR) Publizist/Cartoonist, Powerpaola (ECU/COL/ARG) Comic-Zeichnerin


Moderation: Marcy Goldberg


In Zusammenarbeit mit der Studienrichtung Illustration der HSLU – Design & Kunst


Event in Englisch


Anmeldung

08

GASSETTO

In den Strassen von Luzern 

Verkaufsstart: Mi, 3. März


Wer kennt sie nicht, die GasseZiitig?! Viele Geschichten konnte man bisher lesen und bestaunen in der GasseZiitig, welche in verschiedensten Händen landet, im ganzen Kanton und weiter, je nachdem. Fumetto nutzt die Gelegenheit und arbeitet aufgrund Corona für ein Projekt mit der GasseZiitig zusammen – und erschafft so die erste Take-Away-Ausstellung. Weit über die Grenzen hinaus wird diese in erhöhter Auflage in allerhand Hand gebracht. Diese Special Edition trägt natürlich den Namen Gassetto und verfolgt ein spezielles Ziel: Geschichten von der Strasse als Comics erlebbar machen. Dies ist ein einmaliges Projekt und wurde in dieser Form noch nie umgesetzt. Die Gassetto setzt ein Zeichen, dass auch in schweren Zeiten die Möglichkeiten schier grenzenlos sind. Sie überbrückt soziale Grenzen, indem sie Künstler*innen, Betrachter*innen, Menschen auf der Strasse zusammenbringt und ihre Geschichten für alle als Comic zu Papier bringt.


Die Geschichten gezeichnet haben: Andreas Kiener, Conradin Wahl, Leonie Rösler, Melk Thalmann, Michael Kühni, Roland Burkart, Vanessa Hatzky


Gute Chancen eine Gassetto zu erhalten hast du an folgenden Plätzen: Helvetiaplatz, Theaterplatz, Rathausplatz, Schwanenplatz, Löwenplatz, Mühleplatz, Naturmuseum


Kooperation: Verein Kirchliche Gassenarbeit Luzern


09

Satelliten

In der ganzen Stadt Luzern 

10. – 28. März in der ganzen Stadt Luzern


Begleitet wird das Fumetto Festival von seinen Satellitenausstellungen. Auch diese stehen im Zeichen von Swissness und präsentieren in der ganzen Stadt die Werke einheimischer Künstler*innen. Von experimentellen Graphic Novels, Postkarten aus New York über lebensgrosse Kartonfiguren bieten die verschiedenen Satelliten einen vertieften Blick auf die Spannweite der Neunten Kunst in der Schweiz. Über 40 Lokalitäten, Geschäfte, Restaurants und Bars sind dabei und bieten einzigartige Ausstellungen und Möglichkeiten zur Interaktion mit dem Medium des Comics.


Hier geht es zu den Satelliten-Ausstellungen

10

Co-Mix Remix

Fumetto Comic Shop 

Co-Mix Remix

Comics, soweit das Auge reicht! Fumetto spannt mit dem Comic Laden Co-Mix Remix zusammen und bietet einen weiteren Zugang zur neunten Kunst. An der Pfistergasse 11 erwartet euch ein breites Sortiment an Comicbücher, Vinylplatten und anderen Trouvaillen. Extra für Fumetto stocken sie ihr Sortiment auf und präsentieren die Werke unserer Satelliten Künstler*innen. Neben toller Beratung und fachkundlichen Meinungen erwartet euch eine grossartige Atmosphäre.
Wer also nach den Rundgängen durch die Satelliten Ausstellungen noch nicht genug hat oder noch tiefer in die Welt der Comics vordringen möchte, dem sei ein Besuch bei Co-Mix Remix herzlich empfohlen.


Mo–Mi, 10.00–19.00 Uhr
Do, 10.00–20.00 Uhr
Fr, 10.00–19.00 Uhr
Sa, 9.00–17.00 Uhr


www.co-mix.ch


Menu

FUMETTO

Filter

NEWS

Vom 2. bis 10. April sind wir wieder für euch da!

Alle
Ausstellungen
Satelliten